Neon

One of my favorite things to do when in China was to go out at night and get lost in the miles of neon lights. It was like Christmas lights in the states only on steroids.

Neon Streets- Shenzhen
Neon Streets- Shenzhen

Every city and even every neighborhood of every city was lined with street after street, business after business of neon. Blinking or not it didn’t matter.

In the bigger cities they were switching over to more LED style of lights but they still were beautiful. Only now they can dance with the music being pumped out of the doors hoping to entice you in to their beautiful lair.

Streets of lights- Hong Kong
Streets of lights- Hong Kong

On my first night in China in 2010, as we drove from the airport to our dorm in Shanghai you could see the buildings and bridges full of lights for the World Expo guests. Entire buildings were covered in changing designs well into the night.

Bright Buildings- Shanghai
Bright Buildings- Shanghai

When I visited Shenzhen and Hong Kong the lights went on for as far as I could strain my eyes to see. What beauty.

Teabucks- Shenzhen
Teabucks- Shenzhen

In January 2012, my friend took me to Zhengzhou which is about an hour away from Kaifeng so I could tutor students for a week. When we arrived he kept telling me about this beautiful area and its yummy jiao zi (dumplings). He knew my love of both lights and dumplings so I knew it would be great…and it was. Entire streets were covered with awnings of LED lights and neon ropes. It looked like you were passing underneath rainbows. I was in heaven…even more so when I ate the yummy dumplings.

Tunnel of Neon-Zhengzhou
Tunnel of Neon-Zhengzhou
My slice of heaven- Zhengzhou
My slice of heaven- Zhengzhou
Night-Zhengzhou
Night-Zhengzhou
me and pagoda- Zhengzhou
me and pagoda- Zhengzhou

 

When I look back at all the pictures and videos I took I can’t help but notice I took a lot of photos of my love of lights. I hope you can enjoy them half as much as I did.

2010-05-19 china days 7-9 005

South Gate at Henan University, Kaifeng
South Gate at Henan University, Kaifeng
View of Longting-Kaifeng
View of Longting-Kaifeng
Lights of Disney- Hong Kong
Lights of Disney- Hong Kong

psb (32) 313973_2376422212224_588547_n

One Comment Add yours

  1. chennicole2013 says:

    Beautiful photos! I love your positive attitude.

    Like

Leave a comment